Autumn colours in Shinjuku

Shinjuku_Gyoen-Momiji-48.jpg

Last part of my “autumn colours” series😉
Today I went to Shinjuku Gyoen, which is often recommended as a good place to watch cherry blossoms. Unsurprisingly, it’s also one of the best parks to see the autumn colours.
I went there before my JLPT course (which is the last session before the actual test) so I only had about an hour to walk through the park.

Shinjuku_Gyoen-Momiji-46.jpg

I took about 150 photos and deleted half of them afterwards. My favourite spot was around the ponds – there was almost no wind blowing to disturb the water and the reflection of the trees.

While I was asked more than once whether I’m working as a professional photographer (just because I’m using a DSLR!), my equipment pales in comparison with what many elderly Japanese were carrying around. DSLRs mounted on tripod with lenses that were suitable to photograph a single leaf from a 850 meter distance.

Shinjuku_Gyoen-Momiji-43.jpg

However, some people only needed a canvas, a brush and a palette.

Shinjuku_Gyoen-Momiji-41.jpg
Shinjuku_Gyoen-Momiji-58.jpg

About Mattie

This is my personal blog expressing my love for traveling in Japan, Korea and other parts of the world. When I'm not studying languages or extending my camera collection, I write for computer and tech magazines. Check out my YouTube videos as well. All new posts including ones for older events will be announced on my Twitter account.

Posted on Thursday, December 4, 2008, in autumn, park, shinjuku, tokyo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

