Chiba – The two-dimensional building

Chiba City 18
Chiba City is not a tourist destination. Despite being the home of about 960000 people, it’s not well known for its sights. Chiba also has very little to do with the Chiba described in William Gibson’s cyberpunk novel Neuromancer.

Chiba City 10

I had no fixed plan what to see in Chiba. I went to the Chiba Port Park around the Chiba Port Tower. It is a very interesting building, because it looks like 2D when photographed from the right angle. The tower has an observation deck and a coffee shop. I didn’t feel like watching Chiba from above, especially not at 3 in the afternoon.

Chiba is an industrial town.This was clearly visible from any point of the park. Surfers were still riding the waves – I hope they don’t swallow any of the water.

Chiba City 17

And then a ride with the Chiba Urban Monorail, the longest suspended monorail in the world. The trains are similar to the one in Wuppertal, but the view is less scenic.

Chiba City 46

I spend some more time in a park stretching along the monorail line, before heading back home.

Chiba City 33

About Mattie

This is my personal blog expressing my love for traveling in Japan, Korea and other parts of the world. When I'm not studying languages or extending my camera collection, I write for computer and tech magazines. Check out my YouTube videos as well. All new posts including ones for older events will be announced on my Twitter account.

Posted on Saturday, August 22, 2009, in chiba, japan, travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

