Liège

Liege-Montagne_de_Bueren-04.jpg

Time to use my French again! The first day trip from Aachen with the Euregio ticket was to Liège. Liège is in the French speaking part of Belgium and is probably most famous for the Montagne de Bueren. Surprisingly people live along the stairs and there also seems to be a road to the top which probably isn’t very useful if you live in the middle😉

Liege-Citadelle-01.jpg

If you go further from the top to the Citadelle, you will find some old defense building from WWII and some nice spots for looking over the city below.

Another sight is the ultra-modern train station Liège Guillemins which is unfortunately not in the city centre so I changed trains at Guillemins. Then I went to the tourist office where I got a free city map and a leaflet explaining the sights of the city.

Liege-20.jpg

What I did find out when I was looking for a restaurant was that my vocabulary is really lacking in the culinary area.

About Mattie

This is my personal blog expressing my love for traveling in Japan, Korea and other parts of the world. When I'm not studying languages or extending my camera collection, I write for computer and tech magazines. Check out my YouTube videos as well. All new posts including ones for older events will be announced on my Twitter account.

Posted on Tuesday, September 9, 2008, in belgium, travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

