Furuhon Matsuri

Furuhon-04.jpg

It’s Matsuri (festival) day! After the Nihonbashi parade, I went to the Furuhon (furui=old, hon=book) Matsuri in Kanda. Kanda is an area well known for it’s impressing number of book stores. It’s not major book stores lined up you will find there but small stores packed to the ceiling with books. There is always a good selection of used books in good condition and that’s why this area is especially popular with students.

Furuhon-10.jpg

At the Furuhon Matsuri, people don’t dress as books and walk down the streets cheering. Instead you will find a lot of book stands and many bargains. There are food stands as well. Many book stands concentrated on a specific type of book, so there were history books on sale on one stand and children’s books on the other one. I did look for a nice art book but the ones I found weren’t that interesting for me.

Furuhon-03.jpg

Because the book stands were limiting the space for pedestrians, it was quite hard to get through. The weather was very nice so although I left the festival empty-handed, it was a good experience.

Furuhon-06.jpg

About Mattie

This is my personal blog expressing my love for traveling in Japan, Korea and other parts of the world. When I'm not studying languages or extending my camera collection, I write for computer and tech magazines. Check out my YouTube videos as well. All new posts including ones for older events will be announced on my Twitter account.

Posted on Sunday, October 28, 2007, in japan, matsuri, tokyo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

