Meetups with ridiculously long names

Mermaid pub in Akasaka

I have developed an addiction for meetup groups. Having just attended only one (the Spider-Man 3 meetup), I have already subscribed for a few others – I probably only left out the “Left-handed Spanish expatriates who are speaking Swedish only group” 😉 So today it was time for the second meetup, a different group and a different location: the Mermaid Pub in Akasaka. It’s an English pub and the location was chosen by the “The Tokyo Japanese-English Language and Culture meetup group“. It’s basically a bunch of friendly Japanese and foreigners who will talk to each other in English or Japanese. The capability of speaking in a foreign language varies greatly.
Often it’s a mix between both languages. I tend to forget names (which is probably a good thing on the internet), but the Japanese sitting next to me was really funny and what is even more interesting is that he made the same experience concerning penpals: He got a German penpal, visited her in Germany and it didn’t turn out that well. They are not writing each other anymore.

A pub means beer, lots of beer

I love candid shots 🙂 

Now my penpal also did seem cheerful, I visited her in Tokyo and it didn’t turn out that well. We’ve broken the contact ever since.

At about 22:30 pm everyone went their seperate ways and I went back to Tabata and walked the 20 minute distance from the station to my appartment.

You can see some additional photos here – most were taken by Wye-Khe with my camera.

tabata-night.jpg

 Walking home.

About Mattie

This is my personal blog expressing my love for traveling in Japan, Korea and other parts of the world. When I'm not studying languages or extending my camera collection, I write for computer and tech magazines. Check out my YouTube videos as well. All new posts including ones for older events will be announced on my Twitter account.

Posted on Wednesday, May 9, 2007, in japan, meetup, tokyo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

