[video] Balance of things/Toshi-no ichi


(Original QuickTime video can be downloaded from the archive.org site)
Toshi-no ichi or year-end fairs are held at various places these days. I visited the one at the Fudoson Temple near Higashi-Nihombashi station. Most of the shops seemed to take the opportunity to take a section of their goods outside to sell them. Of course there were also good luck charms available.

Toshi-no_Ichi-08.jpg

I came just in time to see the jugglers of the temple. They were quite good, balancing balls, boxes and even a glass of water. I took a video of the women juggling with glasses filled with water.

Very nice! Since Asakusa wasn’t far away and I took a tripod with I decided to go to Sensoji Temple for some good evening shots. Last time I was there in the evening was in 2004 and back then I didn’t have a tripod so the pictures were quite blurry.

Asakusa-Senso_Ji-10.jpg
About Mattie

This is my personal blog expressing my love for traveling in Japan, Korea and other parts of the world. When I'm not studying languages or extending my camera collection, I write for computer and tech magazines. Check out my YouTube videos as well. All new posts including ones for older events will be announced on my Twitter account.

Posted on Saturday, December 27, 2008, in japan, tokyo, video and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey Matthias, I love the translucence of the umbrella being twirled. Nice capture.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

